Edge Says He Doesn't Watch WWE TV, He's "Burnt Out On It"

09/06/2011 12:55

Former WWE Champion Edge recently did an interview for The Miami Herald, and noted that he doesn't watch WWE programming anymore and talks more on his SummerSlam appearance and his new role on Syfy's "Haven." Below are some interview highlights:Edge

"I don’t watch, actually, because I kind of burnt out on it. It was weird because from the pay-per-view in Tampa I flew right up to ‘Haven.’ I was pretty much up there all summer, and the way the schedule was it didn’t leave a whole lot of much TV watching time, except on the weekends, and WWE is not on TV on the weekends. So I did outdoor stuff, and that was pretty much it. So most of the summer, I’d been away from TV."

"Right now I don’t have the urge to watch. I was at the [SummerSlam] pay-per-view, and that night I only watched Christian’s match. That’s what I find I’ve been doing, just catching his stuff and leaving it at that. It’s not that I hate wrestling or anything like that. I think I’m burnt out because I can’t do it. So I’m taking a break from it."

"It’s not that I hate wrestling or anything like that. I think I’m burnt out because I can’t do it. So I’m taking a break from it. When I was in LA [for SummerSlam], I was like, ‘OK, I’m not going to watch this show.’ I’m not going to be this close to it and not be able to do it, because I don’t know how I’m going to react. I’m sure there’s going to come a point in time where I’ll be like, ‘All right, let’s sit down and watch one,’ and then see how it goes." You can read more by clicking on the above link.

 

THE ENTIRE ARTICLE FROM MIAMI HERALD IS BELOW (https://www.miamiherald.com/2011/09/05/v-fullstory/2392253/more-with-former-wwe-superstar.html)

 

Former WWE superstar Edge meets a fan at the WWE Fax Axxess during WWE WrestleMania 27 Weekend in Atlanta.

Former WWE superstar Edge meets a fan at the WWE Fax Axxess during WWE WrestleMania 27 Weekend in Atlanta. (Scott Fishman / Photo By Scott Fishman)

 

This is Part II of a conversation with future WWE Hall of Famer Edge.

• Former WWE superstar Edge (Adam Copeland) is turning his attentions to acting with appearances on four episodes of the Syfy supernatural series “Haven.” The weekly show follows “WWE SmackDown” on Friday nights.

With one episode in the books, Edge returns to “Haven” (10 p.m. EST/PST Fridays) on Sept. 9, 16 and 23 on Syfy.

• Did you watch yourself when you were on SmackDown?

“Yes, I watched back to see what I could improve on, what I could do better. I definitely watched it, and plus, too, I’m still a fan of wrestling. So I liked to watch.

“I also watched the other guys to see what they were doing, in case I ended up having to wrestle them the next week — not walking into it completely blind.”

So what’s it like tuning into a show and seeing yourself on something other than “SmackDown” after “SmackDown” on Syfy?

“It’s definitely different,” Edge said, “just because I’m used to seeing myself under the lights of WWE in tights. It was actually weird to see myself on TV in normal street clothes, looking like a regular guy on the streets. It was nice. I watched it, and I didn’t cringe, and that’s really all I was hoping for. So that was good because I was expecting a few cringe worthy moments.”

Did you know things were going well on “Haven” before they asked you to appear in more episodes?

“No, I wasn’t sure,” Edge said. “With WWE, I know if I had a good match. I know if I hit something out of the park. With this [Haven], I could guess, but I didn’t know for sure.

“When they said they wanted me back. I said, ‘OK, I guess I must have done all right, or they wouldn’t have asked me back.’ If I’d really sucked, I’m assuming that would have been it. I guess it was good enough to get a call back, and I’ll take that.”

• Is it harder to watch “Raw” or “SmackDown” now because you just retired?

“I don’t watch, actually, because I kind of burnt out on it,” Edge said. “It was weird because from the pay-per-view in Tampa I flew right up to ‘Haven.’ I was pretty much up there all summer, and the way the schedule was it didn’t leave a whole lot of much TV watching time, except on the weekends, and WWE is not on TV on the weekends. So I did outdoor stuff, and that was pretty much it. So most of the summer, I’d been away from TV.

“Right now I don’t have the urge to watch. I was at the [SummerSlam] pay-per-view, and that night I only watched Christian’s match. That’s what I find I’ve been doing, just catching his stuff and leaving it at that.

“It’s not that I hate wrestling or anything like that. I think I’m burnt out because I can’t do it. So I’m taking a break from it. When I was in LA [for SummerSlam], I was like, ‘OK, I’m not going to watch this show.’ I’m not going to be this close to it and not be able to do it, because I don’t know how I’m going to react. I’m sure there’s going to come a point in time where I’ll be like, ‘All right, let’s sit down and watch one,’ and then see how it goes.”

You were involved in “SummerSlam.”

“Yes, but I still didn’t watch anything,” he said. “I went out and did my thing, and that was it.

“Actually, what that show did for me was really give me closure. When I went out there, I was like, ‘All right. I’m good.’ If that never happens again, I’m fine with it.”

• With enough time off, could you come back for another match at some point, like HBK did or Stone Cold who says he can, or is that something you don’t want to think about?

“I don’t really want to think about it, and also the WWE doctors told me they’ll never give me clearance to do it. It’s not going to change. My spine is shrinking.

“So it’s not like four years down the road it’s gonna suddenly open back up, and in order for it to open back up, I’d need to get surgery which would weaken my neck even more, which definitely stops me from ever doing it again.

“What doctors told me is they won’t clear me. Now, I think [Austin] has the same thing as me. So coming back he has to pass all that stuff, and if you can’t pass it, they won’t clear you. It’s not a matter of, ‘Ah, well maybe one more.’ Well, maybe one more, if they clear you. Great, but they told me I’d never be cleared. So that makes everything easier for me. It immediately got rid of, ‘I can come back for one more.’ It’s like maybe I could, but they told me they won’t let me.

“So they took that all out of my hands. It’s funny because people have said, “Oh, OK, so you’re going to comeback for one more.’ It’s like you’re missing the point here. I didn’t retire because I wanted to. I retired because they told me I had to. There’s a big difference there.

“Even the weekend with ‘SummerSlam,’ I did an autograph session, and fans were asking, ‘When you coming back for one more.’ You don’t understand. They told me I can’t. People will give you flack, and it’s like, ‘No, I’m not walking away from this to become an actor. I was told that they will not let me do this. ‘You’re done.’ No choice in the matter. ‘Sorry.’

“Actually, it did make it easier that they said that because I don’t have to sit around and think, ‘OK, well, they said I could sit out a little more, but there’s a huge risk. There’s this. There’s that.’ They took the decision out of my hands.

“At first, I was like, ‘Oh, what are you kidding. I can do this. I still feel pretty good. Sure, my neck hurts a lot, but I got a plate in it. What do you expect?’ Well, when all of a sudden that’s taken from you, and you don’t have that choice. For me, it really did make it easier, because I didn’t have to sit down and go, ‘OK’ and make any decisions. The decision was made. It was made by my body obviously but also by them.

“So I don’t have any second guessing or that maybe in two years I can come back and do that one last match or anything like that. Yea, I’m done, and that’s all there is to it, and you have to accept it.”

• Edge returns to “Haven” (10 p.m. EST/PST Fridays) on Sept. 9, 16 and 23 on Syfy. The weekly supernatural series follows “WWE SmackDown.”

• To keep posted on all things WWE WrestleMania 28 in Miami, visit https://www.facebook.com/pages/WrestleMania-28-Miami-FL/215163478497589#!/pages/WWE-WrestleMania-28-Miami/241160769255279.

The page is not only about the super bowl of sports entertainment and other activities during WrestleMania Week but also South Florida, airports, directions, eateries, hotels, roads and more.

Back

Search site

© Wrestling Information- 2011 All rights reserved.